My Body Electric
My Body Electric
Angel from Montgomery
7
0:00
-4:48

Angel from Montgomery

A song for the end of August
7

“Angel from Montgomery” by John Prine feels like a song for the dog days of summer to me: a bit stifled, like earth dusty from lack of rain, as the season has turned into a guest who’s worn out their welcome. It’s filled with a big kind of longing.

I love it. The first version I heard & the one that stays on in the radio in my heart is a live version by Bonnie Raitt & John Prine from the album John Prine (Live) released in 1989.

My version is slow, because today I’m moving slowly. Also, your girl is a sucker for a ballad. Pretend you’ve got a very cold iced tea in your hand & we’re sitting on a porch together.

Thanks for listening. Stay cool out there.

Annie

Discussion about this podcast

My Body Electric
My Body Electric
In my weekly Annie-grams, I reflect on this life of beauty & pain through my experiences as a disabled poet. I sing the Body Electric in one form or another (song, essay, or poem) with a lens fixed on radical empathy & vulnerability.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Annie